The South Shore

The South Shore

The South Shore includes 40 municipalities within six regional county municipalities (RCMs) and stands out for its perfect urban and rural combination.

A solution to workforce issues

The densification of the greater Montreal area can be a response to labour force issues. It is the place of residence of nearly 50% of the population of Quebec and offers a pool of available workers for companies that choose to set up shop in the area. With a rapidly growing population, especially in the last few years, the South Shore has more than 500,000 residents spread over 6 MRCs and 40 municipalities.

An efficient public transit network

The area’s optimized public transit system is planned and organized on a metropolitan scale. Residents, workers, and students benefit from a well-structured service that makes it easy to move around whether for work or fun.

The South Shore, when urban meets rural

The Montérégie, a farming area par excellence, offers the best possible access to natural environments and the St. Lawrence River.

An unrivalled environment with a high population density, access to services and a direct portal to natural landscapes and rural areas of great heritage value, the Montérégie is the ideal mix of nature and culture.

Economic sectors in full swing

The Montérégie has it all! Freight transport and logistics, agri-food and agri-tourism, health-care centres, clean technologies, metal production and processing, construction, professional services, local businesses, and much more!

An exceptional location just a step away from Montreal

The proximity to the metropolis is not all the Montérégie has to offer; the region is also well connected to markets in the United States and Ontario by land, sea, and rail.

Hubs and industrial parks, logistics zones and industrial ports located in 6 regions of the Montérégie add to the benefits of settling in the area.

See the interactive map



La Couronne-Sud est l’un des cinq secteurs formant la Communauté métropolitaine de Montréal. La Table des préfets et élus de la Couronne-Sud représente 40 municipalités réparties dans six municipalités régionales de comté (MRC). La Table prend position notamment sur les enjeux de mobilité, de transport, de développement économique, d’aménagement du territoire, d’environnement et de gestion des matières résiduelles. Par l’entremise de ses représentantes et de ses représentants, la Table défend et fait connaitre les consensus et positions stratégiques dont elle se dote auprès des diverses instances, tant sur l’échiquier métropolitain qu’auprès des gouvernements du Québec et du Canada. En savoir plus

Crédit photo : Vue aérienne MRC de Roussillon; Appartement_pexels-expect-best; Autobus Terminus-courtoisie Exo